Skip to main content

Extended hashtag control of Friends+Me reposts

With upcoming support of LinkedIn network we've realized that Friends+Me needs a better, easier and more intuitive control of reposts.

Here is what we've come up with. To define repost destination network(s) you can use hashtags in your Google+ post. Otherwise Friends+Me will repost to networks you've marked as default ones.

Better control, better experience.

How does a default destination work?

Default means you don't need to append a control hashtag to your Google+ post to let Friends+Me know where you want to repost the post.

In another words, if you don't append any control hashtag to your post, Friends+Me will repost the post to the social networks you have marked as default.

Hashtag only means you have to append a control hashtag to Google+ post to make Friends+Me repost to that social network.

How to use control hashtags?

You can control Friends+Me reposts by using hashtags. Just append a hashtag to your post.

Choosing the networks by using hashtags is quite simple. You just have to combine letters f for Facebook, t for Twitter and l for LinkedIn into one #hashtag. The order of the letters does not matter.

For example #ftl will repost to Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn and #flt, #tlf, #tfl, ... are equal, the order of the letters really does not matter.

  • #fl for reposts to Facebook and LinkedIn but not to Twitter.
  • #tf for reposts to Twitter and Facebook but not to LinkedIn.

If you don't want to repost your publicly published activity at all, you have to use hashtag #noshare or #ns.

  • ex. "Top secret message. #ns"

Examples of Google+ posts with hashtags

  • The activity without any control hashtag goes to default networks only.
  • Don't repost this post. #ns
  • Repost this only to Facebook and Twitter. #ft
  • Repost this only to Twitter and LinkedIn. #tl
  • Repost this only to LinkedIn. #l
  • Repost this only to Facebook. #f

Popular posts from this blog

Schedule posts for Google+ Profiles and Collections without the browser running all the time!

I am happy to announce that Google+ team has taken another step in the right direction and made it possible to publish to Google+ profiles and collections to all Google+ partners.

So from now on, Friends+Me users are going to be able to schedule and publish posts for Google+ profiles and collections without the need to keep the browser with the Friends+Me extension up and running all the time!

We've almost lost all hopes but it's finally here! How cool is that!

All you have to do is to reconnect your already connected Google+ Profile and Page accounts to enable this new feature. How to reconnect account? The feature will be automatically enabled for all accounts you'll connect from now on.

There's a catch. The extended Google+ API do not support publishing to Google Apps profiles, only vanilla Google profiles are supported at the moment. Google+ team promised to remove this limitation soon.

Let me know what you think of this new feature.
Enjoy :)

Introduction to Friends+Me

What on Earth is Friends+Me? Good question, glad you asked! Friends+Me is a powerful social media tool that allows you to post, selectively cross-post and schedule to a large number of social networks.

It transforms Google+ into a Social Media Management Tool and gives you full control over which networks you want to repost to as well as when you want the post scheduled (either straight away, after a delay or at a predefined schedule).

You can also use the browser extension which allows you to schedule posts to all your networks including Google+ profiles, pages, communities and collections.
Google+, really? Yes, really! Whilst you don’t need to be an active Google+ user to use Friends+Me (the browser extension allows you to post to all your networks without having to first post to Google+), there are huge advantages in posting first to Google+.

This article isn’t the place to convince you of all the advantages (there are many articles out there already), but Friends+Me can help grow…

How to Use Friends+Me in your Team

Are you a little like me and try and do everything yourself? I admit I am a bit of a control freak, but recently I’ve discovered the joy and freedom of delegating some of my frequent tasks to others. Doing this has allowed me to spend more time on developing other aspects of my business and freeing my mind to focus on the important stuff!

However, delegating tasks relating to social media can be tricky. I know of some businesses who share their Twitter password within their team. That’s dangerous because the security of your Twitter account is now dependant on more than just you. There have been high profile cases of businesses’ Twitter accounts being taken over by a rogue (former) employee or by a malicious hacker. You should never share your social media accounts’ user credentials, but this is a challenge as some social networks don’t make that a simple task- Twitter in particular.

This is where a social media management tool comes in very useful- and Friends+Me does help! With Frien…