Skip to main content

New simple way of setting up Friends+Me profile with presets

Well, we all may agree that Friends+Me is not exactly a prototype of easy to setup product right now.

One of many challenges new users must face is not just how to connect accounts and setup repost routing correctly but it is also hard for them to find some actionable answer to questions like:

  • How can I control my reposts with hashtags?
  • Can reposts lead followers to the shared content instead of my Google+ accounts?

It was simply too hard to setup.

From now on you’ll always know how your Google+ repost will look like on the other networks and where the back-link if any will lead your followers.

Let me introduce to you configuration presets.

Every single user will be able to pick one of four presets to setup complex Friends+Me behavior with just a single click.
The presets define the control of reposts so new Google+ posts are either reposted by default or reposted only if at least one control hashtag is present within the post.
The next important thing presets define is back-link behavior. Where should the back-link lead, to the original Google+ post or to the shared content? Should the back-link be really present within the repost or you want reposts without the back-link?
These options and behaviors were really hard to setup and use. Presets will help you to pick one of four social media strategies.


The first preset is called Grow my Google+ channel. This preset makes Friends+Me repost every new Google+ post except those containing a "no share" hashtag (#ns, #noshare, #plusonly). Back-link is appended if necessary and always leads back to Google+.

With the second preset called Mirror everything Friends+Me also reposts every new Google+ post except those containing a "no share" hashtag and no back-link is appended. Links always lead to the shared content and not to the original Google+ posts.

The third preset Grow my Google+ channel but I tell you which posts to repost and where is basically the same as the first preset Grow my Google+ channel. With the only difference that the new posts are not reposted by default but you have to include at least one control hashtag within the post in order to tell Friends+Me where you’d like to repost to.

And the last preset Mirror only posts I tell you to is almost the same as Mirror everything preset. With the only difference already mentioned for the third preset, that the new posts are not reposted unless they contain at least one control hashtag.

Quick summary

So let’s see what we have here. Two new presets Grow my Google+ channel and Mirror everything will help you to focus more on publishing and not to think about where you want the new Google+ post to be reposted to.

The other two presets Grow my Google+ channel but I tell you which posts to and Mirror only posts I tell you to allow you to control destination of every single new Google+ post with control hashtags. You’re in control and Friends+Me will not repost anything unless you include at least one control hashtag within your new Google+ post.

These two presets require you to do some additional work. You’ll have to create new control hashtags and assign some already connected accounts to them. Super easy with the new user interface.
It’s important to mention that nothing changes for existing users, they can, but don’t have to, switch to presets configuration of Friends+Me profile.

Don't forget to check screenshots of every possible repost http://help.friendsplus.me/category/10-reposts-design

And a bonus :)


The improved user interface offers more actionable information. Moreover, new tours were introduced to help you to get through the most complex settings.

Popular posts from this blog

Schedule posts for Google+ Profiles and Collections without the browser running all the time!

I am happy to announce that Google+ team has taken another step in the right direction and made it possible to publish to Google+ profiles and collections to all Google+ partners.

So from now on, Friends+Me users are going to be able to schedule and publish posts for Google+ profiles and collections without the need to keep the browser with the Friends+Me extension up and running all the time!

We've almost lost all hopes but it's finally here! How cool is that!

All you have to do is to reconnect your already connected Google+ Profile and Page accounts to enable this new feature. How to reconnect account? The feature will be automatically enabled for all accounts you'll connect from now on.

There's a catch. The extended Google+ API do not support publishing to Google Apps profiles, only vanilla Google profiles are supported at the moment. Google+ team promised to remove this limitation soon.

Let me know what you think of this new feature.
Enjoy :)

Introduction to Friends+Me

What on Earth is Friends+Me? Good question, glad you asked! Friends+Me is a powerful social media tool that allows you to post, selectively cross-post and schedule to a large number of social networks.

It transforms Google+ into a Social Media Management Tool and gives you full control over which networks you want to repost to as well as when you want the post scheduled (either straight away, after a delay or at a predefined schedule).

You can also use the browser extension which allows you to schedule posts to all your networks including Google+ profiles, pages, communities and collections.
Google+, really? Yes, really! Whilst you don’t need to be an active Google+ user to use Friends+Me (the browser extension allows you to post to all your networks without having to first post to Google+), there are huge advantages in posting first to Google+.

This article isn’t the place to convince you of all the advantages (there are many articles out there already), but Friends+Me can help grow…

How to Use Friends+Me in your Team

Are you a little like me and try and do everything yourself? I admit I am a bit of a control freak, but recently I’ve discovered the joy and freedom of delegating some of my frequent tasks to others. Doing this has allowed me to spend more time on developing other aspects of my business and freeing my mind to focus on the important stuff!

However, delegating tasks relating to social media can be tricky. I know of some businesses who share their Twitter password within their team. That’s dangerous because the security of your Twitter account is now dependant on more than just you. There have been high profile cases of businesses’ Twitter accounts being taken over by a rogue (former) employee or by a malicious hacker. You should never share your social media accounts’ user credentials, but this is a challenge as some social networks don’t make that a simple task- Twitter in particular.

This is where a social media management tool comes in very useful- and Friends+Me does help! With Frien…